36. Crespo Series

Cello Stories (3)

Time and date

Tuesday 2 July 2019

4:00 pm

5:00 pm


Bantry House

Share :

Admission: €25/€20/€14/€10

Emmanuelle Bertrand and Pascal Amoyel

Louise Farrenc is now seen as one of the Nineteenth Century’s most important women composers. Her Second Piano Quintet may not match The Trout in easy popularity, but it is far more inventive and a lot less repetitive. Rita Strohl was from the next generation and even more inventive with her magnificent Grande sonate dramatique that uses Racine’s Bérénice, a tale of love, power and betrayal, as a background to her unforgettable music.


Composer Work Artist(s)
Louise Farrenc Piano Quintet No.2 in E major Op.31 Mairéad Hickey Ellen Nisbeth Christopher Marwood Malachy Robinson Gloria Campaner
Rita Strohl Sonate dramatique ‘Titus et Bérénice’ Emmanuelle Bertrand Pascal Amoyel