Composition Competition Winners

2024 Results

Congratulations to the 2024 Winners:

Jack Moran Into the Dark 2
Alessandro Loro Digressions
Alexander Mouzouri Hermeneutischer Zirkel

And many thanks to Bushra El-Turk for adjudicating, and don’t miss Bushra leading the Young Composers Forum 1 July with the three winning composers.

2023 Results

Congratulations to the winners of the 2023 Competition: Murrough Connolly, Timothy Doyle and Leah Mullen

And many thanks to Donnacha Dennehy for adjudicating the competition and leading the Young Composers Forum


  • Timothy Doyle – Currents – performed by Inis Quartet
  • Leah Mullen – The Hartford, 1894 – performed by Treske Quartet
  • Murrough Connolly – Ildaite – performed by Calathea Quartet

2021 Results

The 2021 Winners of the 14th String Quartet Composition Competition for young composers, have been selected by Deirdre Gribbin.

Many congratulations to the three winners:

  • Kevin Terry – Ground Loop/Articulations
  • Lindsey Vincent – Apex
  • Luke Smyth – Jules Valensaut

Many thanks to Deirdre for adjudicating this year, where there were a very large number of submissions.

2020 Results

Congratulations to the winners of our 2020 Competition – Ultan O’Brien, Niall Tormey, Liam Dougherty and Luke Smyth.

Many thanks to this year’s adjudicator Deirdre Gribbin.


  • Ultan O’Brien – Na Coillte Istoíche
  • Niall Tormey – Kreatura
  • Liam Dougherty – Sisphye
  • Luke Smyth – Darkly Lit

2019 Results

Congratulations to the winners of our 2019 Composition Competition – Timothy Ethan Doyleinti figgis-vizueta, Robin Haigh and James May.

Many thanks to Andrea Tarrodi for judging the competition.

Winners & Premieres

Their winning works will be premiered at our 2019 West Cork Chamber Music Festival. Details to follow:

The winning works will be performed by Echea Quartet, Doolan Quartet, Docklands Quartet and Ophelia Quartet.

2018 Results

Congratulations to the winners of our 2018 Composition Competition – Darragh Kelly, Daragh Black Hynes, Omar Zatriqi and Lisa Robertson.

Winners & Premieres

Their winning works were premiered at our 2018 West Cork Chamber Music Festival:

  • Omar Zatriqi – Key Chain Halcyon Quartet – 2 July Town Concert
  • Lisa Robertson – Machair Beckett Quartet – 5 July Town Concert
  • Darragh Kelly – Blue Red Abbey Quartet – 6 July Town Concert
  • Daragh Black Hynes – Procession Doolan Quartet – 7 July Town Concert
  • Young Composers Forum – Sunday 1 July. Led by composer-in-residence Deirdre Gribbon

Previous Winners

To view a full list of previous winners from 2008 to 2018, see the pdf – WCCMF Composition Competition 2008 to 2018.

Arts Council - funding music
Crespo Foundation
Fáilte Ireland
Wild Atlantic Way
Cork County Council
Pure Cork
RTE Lyric FM
Creative Places West Cork Islands
Irish Examiner
Maritime Hotel
IMRO - Irish Music Rights Organisation