4. Russian Masters

Time and date

Friday 4 to Monday 7 June 2021

2 days

8:00 pm

Admission: €10

The Ukrainian pianist, Anna Fedorova, has created a tremendous programme by the great Russian masters whose work dominated the cusp of the 19th and 20th centuries. Scriabin completed his Second Sonata on his honeymoon in the Crimea and you can almost see the glitter of moonlight on water and feel the romance in the air. His single movement Black Mass Sonata begins mysteriously before developing into a grotesque march that builds to a grim and dissonant climax before sinking exhausted to a quiet end. The familiar outlines of Mussorgsky’s promenade now come as a relief as Fedorova treats us to a spell-binding journey through the famous Exhibition showing how the quiet introductory pictures evolve inexorably to the glorious and uplifting conclusion at the Great Gate of Kiev.

4. Russian Masters_Programme Notes

Visit the OCL event page for more booking details

European Broadcast 8pm Irish Standard Time
North American Broadcast 8pm ET (1am Irish Standard Time)

On Demand will become available after the conclusion of the North American broadcast for 48 hours (5 June 2am  – 7 June 2am IST)

All works performed by Anna Fedorova

Composer Work
Alexander Scriabin Piano Sonata No.2 in G sharp minor Op.19
Sergei Rachmaninov Piano Prelude in G major Op.32/5
Sergei Rachmaninov Piano Prelude in G sharp minor Op.32/12
Sergei Rachmaninov Piano Prelude in B flat Op.23/2
Alexander Scriabin Piano Sonata No.9 ‘Messe Noire’ Op.68
Modest Mussorgsky Pictures at an Exhibition
Arts Council - funding literature
Fáilte Ireland
Wild Atlantic Way
CCC Library & Arts Service
Cork County Council
Pure Cork
Creative Places West Cork Islands
RTÉ Supporting The Arts
Maritime Hotel