The Vanbrugh

Time and date

Sunday 6 October 2019

3:00 pm

Share :
Admission €20, Under 16s €10 - please contact the office on 027 52788 for Under 16 tickets, they are not available online

Admission: €20/€10

Special offer!
Book both 2019 concerts for €34 (discount of 15%)
To avail of this offer, ring the office on 027 52788

In collaboration with the National String Quartet Foundation

The Vanbrugh – Keith Pascoe, Simon Aspell and Christopher Marwood – welcome David McElroy and Ed Creedon for performances of two of the great string quintets: Mozart’s dark and melancholic G minor quintet from 1787, and Dvorak’s sunny, mellifluous ‘American’ Quintet, written in 1891.

As curtain – raiser in three of the concerts, the Foundation presents a remarkable young group from CIT Cork School of Music, the Danu Quartet. They will play Shostakovich’s first string quartet, music of great charm and brilliance, its superb quartet writing a sure portent of the fourteen extraordinary quartets that followed it.


All works performed by The Vanbrugh

Composer Work
Shostakovich String Quartet No.1
Mozart String Quintet in G minor K516
Dvorak String Quintet in E flat major Op.97 ‘American’
Arts Council - funding literature
Fáilte Ireland
Wild Atlantic Way
CCC Library & Arts Service
Cork County Council
Pure Cork
Creative Places West Cork Islands
RTÉ Supporting The Arts
Maritime Hotel