75. Crespo Series

Time and date

Saturday 4 July 2020

4:00 pm

5:00 pm

Share :
This concert features two giants of Soviet Russian music, Prokofiev and Weinberg, with a short duo from Poland, Weinberg’s native country.

Admission: €22/€18/€13/€9

Prokofiev’s brooding F minor Violin Sonata was a war sonata, begun in 1938 and completed in 1946, written to mourn the dead from both Stalin’s purges and the Great Patriotic War. It was premiered by the great David Oistrakh, who instinctively understood its message; he also played it at Prokofiev’s funeral. It is one of the greatest works written for violin and piano.

Penderecki’s strangely named Duo concertante was written for Anne-Sophie Mutter and the young Hungarian bassist Roman Patkoló, a brief explosive dance for two virtuosi.

To conclude will be the Irish premiere of Weinberg’s Sonata for solo bass, composed almost fifty years ago. It is a spectacular work, its six short movements showing off the full range of the double bass, the last two movements are outstanding concluding with a remarkable coda where the bass duets with itself, one voice in harmonics singing gently to its gruff other self.


Composer Work Artist(s)
Prokofiev Violin Sonata No.1 in F minor, Op.80 Rosanne Philippens Zoltán Fejérvári
Penderecki Duo Concertante for Violin and Double Bass Rosanne Philippens Rick Stotijn
Weinberg Solo Sonata, Op.108 IRISH PREMIERE Rick Stotijn
Arts Council - funding literature
Fáilte Ireland
Wild Atlantic Way
CCC Library & Arts Service
Cork County Council
Pure Cork
Creative Places West Cork Islands
RTÉ Supporting The Arts
Maritime Hotel