Pavel Haas Quartet

Instruments: String Quartets

Veronika Jarůšková [violin]
Marek Zwiebel [violin]
Luosha Fang [viola]
Peter Jarůšek [cello]

The Festival is grateful to Dana Zemtsov for stepping in at short notice to replace Luosha on viola.

The Pavel Haas Quartet is revered across the globe for its richness of timbre, infectious passion and intuitive rapport. Performing at the world’s most prestigious concert halls and having won five Gramophone and numerous other awards for their recordings, the Quartet are firmly established as one of the world’s foremost chamber ensembles. In spring 2005, the Quartet won the Paolo Borciani competition in Italy. Further highlights early on in their career were the nomination as ECHO Rising Stars in 2007, the participation in the BBC New Generation Artists scheme between 2007-2009 and the Special Ensemble Scholarship the Borletti-Buitoni Trust awarded them in 2010. The Quartet are based in Prague and studied with the late Milan Skampa, the legendary violist of the Smetana Quartet. They take their name from the Czech composer Pavel Haas (1899-1944) who was imprisoned at Theresienstadt in 1941 and tragically died at Auschwitz three years later. His legacy includes three wonderful string quartets.

2022 Festival Performances include:
Haydn Quartet in G major Op.76/1
Dvořák Quartet in G major Op.106
Suk Saint Wencelas Chorale
Janáček Quartet No.1 & 2
Martinů Quartet No.7
Schubert Quartet in G major D.887
Schubert String Quintet D.956 with Johannes Moser
Korngold Quartet No.3 Op.34
Dvořák String Sextet Op.48 with Dana Zemtsov and Johannes Moser

Pavel Haas Quartet
Arts Council - funding music
Crespo Foundation
Fáilte Ireland
Wild Atlantic Way
Cork County Council
Pure Cork
RTE Lyric FM
Creative Places West Cork Islands
Irish Examiner
Maritime Hotel
IMRO - Irish Music Rights Organisation