Allora Quartet

Instruments: Masterclass Programme Ensembles

Megan Chan, Michelle McCarthy [violins]
Stephen Kelleher [viola]
Michael Murphy [cello]

Formed in 2020, the Allora Quartet is made up of four exciting young musicians from Cork.

An enthusiastic chamber musician and former student of MTUCSM, Megan currently studies violin with Keith Pascoe. She is a prize-winner in local and national competitions and was former co-leader of the National Youth Orchestra of Ireland and SinfoNua.

Michelle has been playing the violin since the age of 4. She is an avid chamber musician and has played in many venues across Ireland. She previously studied in the Cork School of Music with Gregory Ellis

Michael Murphy is a past cello student of Christopher Marwood at the MTU Cork School of Music. He has been principal cellist of the National Youth Orchestra and was the 2019 winner of the Frank Maher Classical Award.

Stephen Kelleher is a past student of Simon Aspell having studied viola at Cork School of Music since the age of six. He is a keen chamber musician having played at previous Bantry festivals and numerous concerts with the Danu Quartet.


Allora Quartet
Arts Council - funding music
Crespo Foundation
Fáilte Ireland
Wild Atlantic Way
Cork County Council
Pure Cork
RTE Lyric FM
Creative Places West Cork Islands
Irish Examiner
Maritime Hotel
IMRO - Irish Music Rights Organisation