86. Coffee Concert

Time and date

Sunday 7 July 2024

11:00 am

12:00 pm

Share :
Esther Hoppe in her second Bach recital opens the day with the A minor and C major Sonatas, both known for their mighty, mind-bending fugues. In the A minor Sonata, the fugue is followed by a serenely beautiful Andante, whose tenderness acts as a balm after the fugue’s harsh complexities. The C major Sonata opens with profound Adagio whose steady tread leads us to the quiet opening of the Fugue, the longest by far in the set, a place where the spiritual and virtuosic elements of the performance are so finely balanced that it is difficult to say where one ends and the other begins. On a slightly lighter note is the staggering brilliance of the final Allegro that dances its way into the heavens. If you love great music, do not miss this recital.

Admission: €22/16/10

Book Now

All works performed by Esther Hoppe

Composer Work
Bach Violin Sonata No.2 in A minor
Bach Violin Sonata No.3 in C major
Arts Council - funding traditional arts
Cork County Council
Pure Cork