68. Coffee Concert

Time and date

Friday 5 July 2024

11:00 am

12:00 pm

Share :
Three hundred years ago Bach’s six Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin set new standards for composition and playing. Violinist Esther Hoppe describes them as both beloved and awe-inspiring companions. The B minor Partita is unique among this set of works for solo violin in that each of the four dances is followed by its Double, that is a doubling but not an exact doubling, more a variation in shorter notes, to spectacular effect in the Corrente. The E major Partita opens with one of the most famous movements of the entire set, a sizzling Prelude - bravura torrents of practically unceasing sixteenth notes. Five dance movements follow, first a slow and majestic French court dance, next the instantly recognisable Gavotte before two Minuets, the first one repeated, a brief Bourée and an irresistible Gigue to close.

Admission: €22/16/10

Book Now

All works performed by Esther Hoppe

Composer Work
Bach Partita No.1 in B minor
Bach Partita No.3 in E major
Arts Council - funding traditional arts
Cork County Council
Pure Cork