69. Crespo Series

Hommage à J.S.B.

Time and date

Friday 30 June 2023

12:05 pm

1:00 pm

Share :
Bach has become impossible to avoid in this year’s Festival; for no special reason except that so many musicians keep wanting to play his music. It is a strange fact but after Bach and his contemporaries very few composers, with the obvious exception of Paganini, chose to write major works for solo violin until the Twentieth Century. György Kurtág, born in 1926, is the current grand old man of European composers. Musicians and composers from all over the world visit him for advice and guidance. He is famous for his very short, concentrated, intensely expressive pieces often dedicated to friends and composers he admires. Helena Winkelman’s short Ciaccona is a gentle piece inspired by the landscape of Iceland. Schnittke’s Fugue is a student work only discovered after his death. It builds slowly to a spectacular conclusion.

Admission: €15

All works performed by Jonian Kadesha

Composer Work
Kurtág Hommage à J.S.B. Perpetuum mobile
Schnittke Fugue for solo violin
Winkelman Ciaccona for violin solo
JS Bach Partita No.2 in D minor BWV 1004
Arts Council - funding music
Crespo Foundation
Fáilte Ireland
Wild Atlantic Way
Cork County Council
Pure Cork
RTE Lyric FM
Maritime Hotel
IMRO - Irish Music Rights Organisation