Pacifica Quartet

©Lisa-Marie Mazzucco

String Quartets

Simin Ganatra, Austin Hartman [violins]
Mark Holloway [viola]
Brandon Vamos [cello]

Recognized for its virtuosity, exuberant performance style, and often-daring repertoire choices, the Pacifica Quartet has achieved international recognition as one of the finest chamber ensembles performing today. Named the quartet-in-residence at Indiana University’s Jacobs School of Music 2012, the Pacifica was previously the quartet-in-residence at the Metropolitan Museum of Art and received a Grammy Award for Best Chamber Music Performance. In 2017, the Pacifica Quartet led the Center for Advanced Quartet Studies at the Aspen Music Festival and School. Formed in 1994, the Pacifica Quartet won chamber music’s top competitions, including the 1998 Naumburg Chamber Music Award. In 2002 the ensemble received Chamber Music America’s Cleveland Quartet Award and the appointment to Lincoln Center’s The Bowers Program. They were awarded the 2006 Avery Fisher Career Grant. In 2009, the Quartet was named “Ensemble of the Year” by Musical America.

13. World Premiere

Dates 25 June to 28 June 2021
Time 8:00 pm
Location Auer Hall, Jacobs School of Music, Indiana University, Bloomington / Online
Admission €10