Alan McMonagle

Genres: Essays | Irish Writing | Non-Fiction

Alan McMonagle lives in Galway. In 2015, he signed a two-book deal with Picador, and in 2017, Ithaca, his debut novel was published and longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Award for first novels and shortlisted for a Bord Gais Irish Book Award. He has published two collections of short stories (Psychotic Episodes, Arlen House, 2013 and Liar Liar, Wordsonthestreet, 2008), both of which were nominated for the Frank O’Connor Award. He also writes for radio and his plays, Oscar Night, People Walking On Water, Shirley Temple Killer Queen and Pink Moon have been produced and broadcast as part of RTE’s Drama on One season. His second novel, Laura Cassidy’s Walk Of Fame was published by Picador in March 2020. Alan’s essay ‘How I Fall Into My Own Private Abyss’ is published in Winter Papers, volume 7.


©John Minihan
Arts Council - funding literature
Fáilte Ireland
Wild Atlantic Way
CCC Library & Arts Service
Cork County Council
Pure Cork
Creative Places West Cork Islands
RTÉ Supporting The Arts
Maritime Hotel