Listen & Watch

Jane Clarke

Jane Clarke ©Elementum

Irish Writing


Jane Clarke is the author of two poetry collections, The River and When the Tree Falls (Bloodaxe Books 2015 & 2019), as well as an illustrated chapbook, All the Way Home, (Smith|Doorstop 2019).

In 2020 When the Tree Falls was shortlisted for the Pigott Poetry Prize, the Irish Times Poetry Now Award  and the Farmgate Café National Poetry Award as well as being longlisted for the Royal Society of Literature’s Ondaatje Prize. Four of her poems feature in Staying Human (Bloodaxe Books 2020) and one of the poem in When the Tree Falls features in The Forward Book of Poetry 2021. In 2016 she won the Hennessy Literary Award for Emerging Poetry and the inaugural Listowel Writers’ Week Poem of the Year Award. She was awarded an Arts Council of Ireland Literary Bursary in 2017.

Jane was born in 1961 and grew up on a farm in Co. Roscommon. She lives with her partner in Glenmalure, Co. Wicklow, where she combines writing with her work as a creative writing tutor and mentor. She holds a BA in English and Philosophy from Trinity College, Dublin, and an MPhil in Writing from the University of South Wales, and has a background in psychoanalytic psychotherapy.

Poetry Writing with Jane Clarke

8 workshops from 2pm IST Wednesdays
Dates 28 October to 16 December 2020
Time 2:00 pm
Location Online
Admission €225

Our sponsors

Arts Council Literature
Cork County Council Library & Arts Services
Cork County Council
Pure Cork
Fáilte Ireland
Wild Atlantic Way
Creative Europe Programme
The Maritime Hotel
O'Keeffe's Supervalu
RTE Supporting the Arts
Cork ETB
University College Cork
Irish Examiner
Laureate for Irish Fiction
Laureate na nOg
Canadian Council for the Arts
Ottawa International Writers Festival
Well Review
Poetry Ireland
Bantry House
Zenith Energy
Foras Eireann
Cork Airport