66. Young Musicians Series

Time and date

Thursday 30 June 2022

12:00 pm

1:00 pm

Share :
Roxanna Panufnik’s quintet for bassoon and strings Cantator and Amanda tells the sad story of two lovers walled up in the Friary walls for their illicit love. Turina’s short work describes the Matador’s prayer before he goes into the ring. Mendelssohn’s final quartet is also known as Requiem for Fanny. She was his sister and lifelong confidante. He only survived her by a few months.

Admission: €7

Book Now
Ultan O'Brien


Composer Work Artist(s)
Roxanna Panufnik Cantator and Amanda Hill Quartet Bram van Sambeek Roxanna Panufnik
Turina Matador's Prayer Hill Quartet
Ultan O'Brien Na Coillte Istoiche Hill Quartet Ultan O’Brien
Felix Mendelssohn Quartet in F minor Op.80 'Requiem for Fanny' Hill Quartet
Arts Council - funding literature
Fáilte Ireland
Wild Atlantic Way
CCC Library & Arts Service
Cork County Council
Pure Cork
Creative Places West Cork Islands
RTÉ Supporting The Arts
Maritime Hotel