Anne Enright

Genres: Fiction | Irish Writing | Novel

Anne Enright was born in Dublin, where she now lives and works. She has written two collections of stories, published together as Yesterday’s Weather, one book of non-fiction, Making Babies, and seven novels, including The Gathering, which won the 2007 Man Booker Prize; The Forgotten Waltz, which was awarded the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction; and The Green Road, which was the Bord Gáis Energy Novel of the Year and won the Kerry Group Irish Fiction Award. In 2015 she was appointed as the first Laureate for Irish Fiction, and in 2018 she received the Irish PEN Award for Outstanding Contribution to Irish Literature. She is also the recipient of the 2022 Irish Book Awards Lifetime Achievement Award. Her latest novel The Wren, The Wren was published by Jonathan Cape in August 2023 and won the won the fiction category in the 2024 Writers’ Prize (formerly the Rathbones Folio Prize).


©Hugh Chaloner
Arts Council - funding literature
Fáilte Ireland
Wild Atlantic Way
CCC Library & Arts Service
Cork County Council
Pure Cork
Creative Places West Cork Islands
RTÉ Supporting The Arts
Maritime Hotel