45. Crespo Series

Cello Stories (6)

Time and date

Wednesday 3 July 2019

4:00 pm

5:00 pm

Share :

Admission: €18/€13/€9

Laura van der Heijden

Laura van der Heijden has chosen a wide-ranging programme for her recital with Finghin Collins, culminating in Schnittke’s mighty Sonata, a demonic Presto sandwiched between two highly expressive Largos. They begin with Bach’s gorgeous G major Sonata originally written for viola da gamba and harpsichord, which, as here, is regularly kidnapped by cello/piano duos creating a strange but fascinating hybrid. Beethoven’s G minor Cello Sonata was written for the same cello-playing King Friedrich Wilhelm II for whom Mozart wrote his last three quartets. It is a very early work full of the 26 year-old composer’s youthful inspiration.

All works performed by Laura van der Heijden Finghin Collins

Composer Work
J.S. Bach Gamba Sonata No.1 in G major BWV 1027
Beethoven Cello Sonata No.2 in G minor Op.5/2
Schnittke Cello Sonata No.1