Literary Programme 2017

Vona Groarke & Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin

Vona Groarke & Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin

Vona Groarke
Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin

Maritime Hotel

Wed 19 July 2017



Vona Groarke will read from Selected Poems and Four Sides Full as well as some new work. Selected Poems (2016) comprises work from six full collections, beginning with Shale (1994) and ending with her most recent collection from the Gallery Press, 2014’s X. Four Sides Full is a personal essay that fuses ideas, history and memoir to open up and out about subjects such as the body, family, the past, love, beauty and solitude.

‘Groarke’s poetry has always been a singularly gorgeous one, and [Selected Poems] follows the arc of that highly sensuous, highly attuned voice through its various incarnations.’Irish Times

Four Sides Full [is] ultimately as moving as it is erudite and elegant… as this beautiful little book shows, it is things seen from the corner of the eye, almost out of the frame, that move us most.’ – Irish Times

Vona Groarke has published ten titles with Gallery Press, including seven poetry collections, the latest being Selected Poems, (2016). Her most recent publication is a book-length essay on art frames, Four Sides Full. Her poems have recently appeared in The New Yorker, Threepenny Review, The Guardian, Poetry and Poetry Review. Vona was editor of Poetry Ireland Review until January 2017 and is a selector for the UK’s Poetry Book Society and member of Aosdána. She teaches poetry in the Centre for New Writing at the University of Manchester. Vona was awarded the 2017 Hennessy Hall of Fame award for outstanding contribution to literature.

Vona is also teaching our five-day Growing Poems: Poetry writing workshop from Monday 17 to Friday 21 July.

Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin will read from her new pamphlet Hofstetter’s Serenade as well as some new poems and some new translations from Italian poetry.

Born 1942 in Cork, Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin is an Emeritus Fellow of Trinity College, Dublin, and currently Ireland Professor of Poetry (2016-19). With her husband Macdara Woods, the late Leland Bardwell and the late Pearse Hutchinson, she is a founder and co-editor of the Irish poetry journal Cyphers. The Sun-Fish, her seventh collection, was shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot Prize and won the Griffin International Prize for poetry in 2010; The Boys of Bluehill was published in 2015 by Gallery Press, and was shortlisted for the Forward Prize, the Irish Times Poetry Now Award and the Pigott Prize at the Listowel Writers’ Week. A pamphlet containing ten new poems, Hofstetter’s Serenade, has just appeared from Periplum.

This reading is supported by Poetry Ireland

Eiléan’s photo is by Patrick Redmond, courtesy of Wake Forest University Press