2018 J G Farrell Award Winner Announced

Posted on: Wednesday, 06th June 2018 @ 2:38pm

J G FarrellWe are delighted to announce the winner of the 2018 J G Farrell Award winner. Novelist Katharine Weber judged this year’s competition and has chosen The Lonesome Boatman by M. F. Whitney as the winner. 

Katharine Weber said,

“In a field of many strong submissions, my task was to look beyond good writing from one page to the next, to go beyond clear indications of plans and intentions for an appealing novel, to find the first chapter that accomplishes those things while enticing the reader to need to keep reading, wanting to know more—more about the characters, more about the events of the past, the present, and the future of this story—while willingly and gladly keeping company with the voice of the novel. What made THE LONESOME BOATMAN stand-out is its narrative strategy. From the opening lines, as we are introduced to the narrator’s family history and claims of uncanny talents, we are also immediately seized by the confiding, possibly unreliable voice of this story. We don’t know if this character will tell the truth, but even before the end of the first page, we can settle in, trusting the author to tell us a good story.”

Katharine Weber chose two other submissions, The Mad Mile by Anthony Lodge and Tommy by Cammy Harley, for honourable mentions.

The winner has been awarded a place on Katharine Weber’s Novel Writing workshop at the West Cork Literary Festival and accommodation in Bantry for the duration of the five day workshop.