Travelling to Bantry

For 9 days & nights in July the seaside town of Bantry in West Cork, Ireland comes alive to the sound of music for the West Cork Chamber Music Festival.

With music from morning to midnight, the Festival repeatedly discovers unexpected repertoire and the programme blends challenging contemporary works with some of the best-loved works in the repertoire. World class musicians perform five concerts each day and young musician masterclasses run throughout the week, culminating in a dedicated concert featuring stars of the future on the final day. The Festival also hosts Ireland’s only violin and bow making exhibition.
Bantry House, the ancestral home of the Earls of Bantry,  is the main concert venue along with the small single-aisle St Brendan’s Church.
All the venues have an intimacy that is vital for chamber music and Bantry House itself is renowned for the atmosphere created in the candle-lit Library and the House’s extraordinarily beautiful setting with commanding views over Bantry Bay.

 

GETTING TO BANTRY

Located along the Wild Atlantic Way Bantry is approximately 90 km west of Cork City.  If you are unsure of travel directions please get in touch - we are more than happy to help you to get to this beautiful part of Ireland.
GPS: Latitude : 51.680563 | Longitude : -9.448771

BY CAR

Bantry is along the N71 between Glengariff and Ballydehob.
From Cork (via N71):  Approx 90 km or 1 hr – 1 ¼ hr drive.
From Dublin (via M7 & M8):  Approx 285 km or 4 hr drive.
From Limerick (via N20):  Approx 180 km or 3 hr drive.

AIRPORTS

Cork Airport   www.corkairport.com
Direct flights from Munich and Dusseldorf
Cork Airport is located just outside Cork city centre, approx 90 km or 1 hr - 1 ¼ hr drive from Bantry.

Kerry Airport   www.kerryairport.ie
Direct flights from Frankfurt Hahn
Kerry Airport is located just outside Killarney, approx 75km or 1 ¼ hr drive from Bantry

Shannon Airport www.shannonairport.ie
Direct flights from  Berlin-Schönefeld
Shannon Airport is located in County Clare, approx 180 kms or 2 ¾ hr drive from Bantry

Dublin Airport  www.dublinairport.com 
Direct flights from Berlin-Schönefeld, Berlin- Tegel,  Düsseldorf, Frankfurt-Hahn, Frankfurt International,  Hamburg Fuhlsbuttel, Munich and Stuttgart.
Dublin Airport is located just outside Dublin, approx 348 km, 3 ¾ hr drive from Bantry

PRIVATE TRANSPORT
Contact George Plant Minibus & Taxi Services +353 (0)27 50654 / +353 (0)86 2398123 who provides private transport services for the West Cork/South East Kerry Region.

TRAIN
Cork City is served by a mainline rail terminal (Kent Station), however, there is no train connection to Bantry. Visit Irish Rail website for more information.

BUS
Bus Éireann offers a regular service from Cork (Bus Aras) at Parnell Square, with a special express service during the summer months, connecting to Kenmare and Killarney.

FERRY
Cork Harbour (1½ hr drive) is serviced by Brittany Ferries www.brittanyferries.ie
Rosslare Harbour (Approx 280 km, 4 hr – 4 ½ hr drive) is serviced by Irish Ferries www.irishferries.com, Stena Line www.stenaline.ie and Celtic Link Ferries www.celticlinkferries.com.

STAYING IN BANTRY AND NEAR BANTRY
Take a look at all the accommodation providers here.